Wun Tunn Zoop is being cranky

Standard

Well, actually, no cranky!

The dreaded start then shutdown issue is back

I took the beastie out for a refuel Monday and initially everything seemed on the up and up. Unfortunately Once i was fueled up and restarted I got just a few feet and it shutdown. After a couple of attempts at restarting it was obvious that things were way not right.

A case of PMD

After tangling with this a ways back I resigned myself to the fact that the injector driver [PMD] would have to be replaced. The down side to this is where this piece is located on the engine is a pecker wood to get to. [ Read that labor intensive = $$$ ] This is a common failure on these diesels and because of it’s being mounted directly on the injector pump, in the center of the engine. under the intake, it dies of heatstroke. It is a notorious bad boy and there are a variety of relocation kits on the market that relocate it to a cooler climate. Some move it above the intake, some to the fender well and some to a location behind the front bumper.

Normally if it were in a pickup you can simply finagle the connector off and plug in an extension cable and mount the new PMD and heat sink to its new location. No actual part retrieval required. After the last episodes I actually bought the Dorman 904-113 PMD Relocation Kit as a preemptive strike. But because this is a van the logistics of getting to that connector are way worse. And it was that factor alone that made me grab both my head and my wallet in pain!

 

Curt’s Service

But I do have an awesome shop in the area that is great with service so I called Curt’s Service and started the ball rolling.  They came and got the disabled van and delivered it to the repair shop. It wasn’t long before I got the boomerang phone call  with the confirmation that it was indeed the PMD and they could fix it in return for a bag of money. And I was pleasantly surprised when they told me that the shop was going to relocate the new unit to a remote location in the process. Excellent! I was impressed! Like I said these guys are good! So they are in the process of making Wun Tunn Zoop all better. So I should have it back tomorrowish.

The sad part about this whole scenario is that I was kinda dancing with the devil on this one and it was only a matter of time before it bit me in the wallet. OUCH! But I should be good till the next disaster. But I do know where to get it fixed right.

 

Leave a comment