HHR power steering is fixed …

Standard

but the exhaust is toast!

Power Steering Assist Motor

The oem GM power steering assist motor which I acquired last week went in without a problem. The only sidebar for the r&r is that the brackets under the dash are frickin sharp! Wear a glove! After “putting a little bit of myself” into the project and patching myself up, THEN putting on a glove, it all went very smoothly. Excellent!

EPS power assist motor

Now for the exhaust

Since I was already rummaging around on the HHR this morning I decided to do some discovery on a new woofing exhaust noise coming from the rear driver quarter. So after dragging out the trusty cardboard work cushion I scooted under that area but nothing appeared to be amiss. Then I went back to the muffler area. That revealed that the mid-mount pin had rotted off. Not a big issue since there is another at the muffler tail and it was intact. But not a good thing. On first viewing I did not see any other issues.

That’s when I decided to go ahead and start it up and see if I could pin it down. Once started the sound began. I crawled back under to locate this aggravating noise.  To make it easier to locate I put my hand over the exhaust outlet to make some back pressure. And that did it! It was bleeding out in a pair of sections but from UNDER the heat shielding that is welded to the tube. Not visible from a simple look. Time for a new exhaust system!

The exhaust system on the HHR is pretty much like any other late model system an a 1-piece welded system. But, sadly, it is not stainless. So it is replaced in pieces parts. I’m not fooling around and just making it all go away. After some quick web searching I was able to locate the needed numbers for the Walker replacement parts. #56154 Exhaust resonator and pipe / #21572 Muffler. Now with the numbers on hand I made a quick call to my local supplier and they are on their way and should be available in a couple of hours. I am sure the bolts on the converter flange are most likely crap. I will just chuck them put in some new SS hardware.

So I guess I have a afternoon job planned. First I will take break for breakfast with Faye Dean and then tackle the rest later on. Not a real big job just awkward. But with  a sawzall and some determination anything is possible! Right?! And , YES!, I will be wearing gloves!

 

 

Leave a Reply

