Spring has sprung! Let’s get some work done!

Standard

It was a nice day so I got some work done on the Chevy Express yesterday.

Since I have had the van it has had a nagging issue with the outside sliding door latch. Well, it wouldn’t work to be exact! You could open it from inside but that involved reaching around from the passenger seat and pulling the door lever.So I decided to have a go at it.

Once i got all the door trim off I had a chance to take a closer look at what was going on. And it didn’t take long to see the problem. The small actuator rod for the door handle was not only off but was installed upside down! Now I don’t know if this was done at an earlier time for security reasons or it was an attempted repair of the door handle that went sideways. Either way I was able to get it all back in place and the door works completely now. Key lock, handle, kiddie lock and electrics.

Super! Now I can move on to the interior redo.

Leave a Reply

