THE Woodward Dream Cruise 2014

Standard

Mustang Alley and the Ferndale Dream Cruise Show

Since I didn’t have to deliver my car today at 0630 it made my day a bit easier to manage. I was able to head out about 0930 and found a good parking spot and proceeded to check out all the sights and venues in and around the 9 Mile Road and Woodward corner.

There was lots going on with the festival and vendors on the west side of Woodward and the Ford Mustang Alley on the east side. As usual there was a nice manufacturers row in Mustang Alley. With Roush, Ford Motorsport, MRT and others. And the there were lots of Mustangs! They lined 9 Mile from Woodward not quite to Hilton.  They also filled the many side lots along the route. And it is my opinion that I don’t believe there were as many as last year. I may be mistaken but it appeared to me that way.

Mustang Alley 2014

Mustang Alley 2014

I wandered the Mustang Alley in search of the older Mustangs. I passed tons of the newer ones but they don’t interest me at all. There was even a lot full of all years of just green Bullit Edition Mustangs! I was able to find many of the first generations of Mustangs, 65 to 73, and check them out for any details that interested me. I did find a few that I was able to glean some ideas and layouts that I can use in my projects.

I did get some ideas like a unique single pin retainer for the trunk, a well done Duraspark unit mount, some way cool floor inserts and a slick seatbelt mount point. All in all it was a productive stroll through Mustang Alley and the surrounding venues.

I did take a break for lunch complete with a Turbo Dog beer and an Angus burger at  Howe’s Bayou on Woodward. And I ran into many friends and acquaintances in my extended wanderings. Super nice! I had the pleasure of spending some time with my son, Steve, and my grandson, Liam, walking a section of Woodward while they cruise their bikes along the route. Way super finish to a great day.

The Bikers Steve and Liam

The Bikers Steve and Liam

I will be going to the 50th Anniversary Show at Ford tomorrow and I will see if I can get some more ideas along the way. If my feet hold out it should be way cool. And getting there shouldn’t be a problem now that all the flooding of the great rain storm of 2014 have subsided. So I will have at it again tomorrow. That’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

