Still outwitted by the random misfire issue.

Standard

After a whole lot of parts and a lot of troubleshooting I am still having a misfire issue on the 65

Wire! Lots of wire!

Wire! Lots of wire!

The problem has never changed since it raised it’s ugly head late last season. The car has a 200 inch straight six and an Autolite 1 barrel carb. Pretty straight forward stuff! So far I have replaced all the major components. Carb, distributor, cap, rotor, wires, plugs and coil.  I even pulled the head and had it redone just to eliminate any burned valve or the like. To no net result. I even swapped the original carb and distributor back in individually so as to rule out getting a bum part.

I am now into troubleshooting from an electrical view. Things such as coil voltages and the like. Even considering the resistor wire to the distributor. Even a chance of a goofy ground somewhere. But so far it appears that I have the correct voltages at the right spots. I am frustrated and very confused at this point. I don’t like it when I can’t figure stuff out on my own. I’m built like that.

I must admit the car fires up way better than it did before and for the most part has great overall power. It just has this nagging misfire across the  rpm spectrum.

Right now I am doing a lot of web scrounging to see if I can come up with a solution. If you have any insights as to a possible cause feel free to hit me up. I am open to any input.

Leave a Reply

