My “new” vintage Cronco cooler

Standard

I now have another vintage cooler that I picked up today while rummaging through a local flea market vendor. It is a Cronco cooler with a blue top and sailfish on it that I found out is a very common cooler for the 40/50/60’s. This one I found buried under a pile of women’s shoes. After digging it out and doing the required haggling over the price I ended up getting it for $7.00!

I got it back to the house and proceeded to give it a once over and for the most part it was in pretty good condition. The top has a couple of rips in it so it will probably get a reupholster in some sort of vinyl yet to be determined.  Since it is a sit-on style cooler it had some indenting on the bottom and so I started the disassembly to make it right.

But a simple unscrewing of the drain plug and the inner shell came right out. I removed the aged fiberglass insulation and once that was cleaned out with a quick pass of a brass brush I got to the business of getting the base section back to some semblance of its original form.  A rubber mallet on a bath towel laid over a granite table top gave me the surface I needed to get it back right. A simple series of mallet blows in a back and forth pattern brought it right back. Just awesome. So now I will replace the old fiberglass mat with some sheet Styrofoam insulation. and I may even reinforce the bottom with some thin plywood. But for the most part it is ready to reassemble.

I did remove the damaged sailfish decal from he face of the cooler so I will have to find some sort of vintage trim to go on it in its place. I am sure we can come up with something. We shall see.

Vintage Cronco cooler

So for now it is awaiting final reassembly and new trim but it is intact. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

