What a Bag Of Snakes!

Standard

New Chassis Harness Install

Here we go so hold on to your hats, this could get ugly! I have had the harness for a while now and finally got up the courage to get this "bag of snakes" prepped to be installed. Now the harness I have is a Painless Harness # 10202 18 Circuit Non-GM Column kit. Great kit that was actually a gift a ways back from a friend. The kit is the usual quality kit you get from Painless. The only thing is that it is way over kill, circuit wise, for this car.The project at hand is to locate all the unused circuit wiring and terminate those. This harness has all sorts of goodie circuits like a 4 wheel drive switch, AC, rear power antenna, power windows and locks and cruise control just to mention a few. So the first project is to lay out the harness and identify what I don’t need and figure out the best way to disable them.

Once I laid out the harness full length it was pretty easy to figure out what segments go where. Really hard to visualize it all rolled up and stuffed in a box! A quick read of the manual [ Yep! I said manual! ] gave me a good idea which harnesses and which colored wires needed to be attended to. I was also able to start segmenting the cable to fit my needs. Once I had the segments layed out I was able to start eliminating what I didn’t need. Got most of them identified and started to bind up the segments.

While not going totally into the stone age I am using some of the features like the third eye taillight, backup lights and the electric cooling fan features. With no radio, AC or cruise control makes the dash harness a bit simpler. Not having power windows and locks frees up some of the cabin harness. I will be building my own engine bay harnesses for the relay systems that will run the headlights, cooling fan and horn. The Duraspark distributor and GM drive module harnesses are also going to be custom built. A harness for the gauge system will need to be fabbed also.

Leave a Reply

