Michigan House Bill 5897 Would Increase Fees for Historic Vehicles
We gotta pay attention folks!
It looks like the State Of Michigan is trying to pay for its’ debts any way it can. Now we are being used to enhance their revenue. We need to tell them “NO!”
Legislation (H.B. 5897) introduced in the Michigan legislature threatens to change the $30 registration fee for historic motor vehicles (renewable every ten years) to an annual fee. Under current Michigan law, the owner of an historic vehicle may also choose to use restored authentic Michigan plates from the same year as the vehicle’s model year for a one-time fee of $35. H.B. 5897 would increase that one-time fee as well, to an annual registration fee of $30. Under the bill, each of the registrations would come up for renewal every year on the vehicle owner’s birthday.We Urge You to Contact Members of the Michigan House Transportation Committee Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5897
Currently, the owner of an historic vehicle applying for an historic registration pays a $30 fee which is valid for ten (10) years.
- Currently, the owner of an historic vehicle applying to use an authentic restored Michigan registration plate pays a “one-time” $35 fee which is valid until the owner sells, transfers, or scraps the vehicle or modifies the vehicle in a manner that requires the issuance of a new title.
- H.B. 5897 ignores the fact that these older cars are infrequently driven (about one-third the miles each year as a new vehicle) second or third vehicles and deserving of reduced registration fees.
- H.B. 5897 ignores the fact that many historic vehicles are owned and maintained by low and fixed income Americans who are less able to afford a higher, annual fee.
See the whole article here at the SEMA SAN site. They list who you need to contact also! Please read.